Saffin hosts NSW Local Government Minister Ron Hoenig

Lismore MP Janelle Saffin thanked NSW Local Government Minister Ron Hoenig for making his first official visit to the Northern Rivers this week, meeting with local mayors and councillors, and general managers.

State Member for Lismore Janelle Saffin this week is hosting NSW Minister for Local Government and Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly Ron Hoenig for his first official visit to the Northern Rivers region.

Ms Saffin, who is also NSW Parliamentary Secretary for Disaster Recovery, says flood and bushfire preparedness and recovery were high on the agenda when Minister Hoenig met with representatives from local councils in Ballina this afternoon (Tuesday, 20 February).

“Local councils are at the forefront of disasters, especially in terms of infrastructure repair and rebuild,” Ms Saffin says.

“Mayors and general managers, together with individual councillors, had an opportunity to discuss a range of current issues related to the local government portfolio.”

Minister Hoenig, who is the Member for Heffron, says: “Councils are the closest tier of government to the people and play an invaluable role in supporting their communities, especially during and following times of disaster.

“I look forward to meeting with mayors and councillors to discuss the local government issues impacting local communities.”

Tomorrow (Wednesday, 21 February), Minister Hoenig will receive further briefings on how Lismore is rebuilding its civic infrastructure and Central Business District from the devastating floods of February and March 2022.

MEETING OF MAYORS: NSW Local Government Minister Ron Hoenig and Lismore MP Janelle Saffin with, from left, Richmond Valley Mayor Cr Robert Mustow, Lismore City Mayor Steve Krieg, Byron Shire Mayor Cr Michael Lyon, Kyogle Mayor Cr Kylie Webster, Tenterfield Shire Mayor Cr Bronwyn Petrie, Ballina Shire Mayor Cr Sharon Cadwallader, Clarence Valley Deputy Mayor Cr Jeff Smith (representing CVC Mayor Cr Peter Johnstone) and Tweed Shire Mayor Cr Chris Cherry.